First day of maternity leave :)

I know it’s been a little while since I’ve posted anything but today is my first day of mat leave so I should have a lot of time on my hands for the next month. Unless baby comes early..which wouldn’t be the worst thing because I’m pretty much done with being pregnant now haha.

So far mat leave is weird….I’m not really sure what to do with myself and I don’t think I’ve actually grasped the concept that I don’t have to go to work. When I left work at the end of the day yesterday it certainly didn’t feel like I wouldn’t be going in the next day. Although, as far as last day’s go it was a really fun one. We were on-site all day yesterday doing a photo shoot for wedding design. This is done every month and we work with different photographers each time and some different vendors, it’s not a real wedding just design inspiration that can be submitted and featured in wedding editorials and blogs. Anyway, it’s lots of fun except that yesterday was soooooooo windy and kept blowing our table top stuff away. I won’t have access to the professional photo’s until the first week of April so I only have what I took on my phone. I don’t think I’m allowed posting them on the internet until the shoot is released. So, since I don’t want to get in any trouble, I just cropped out the two little wedding cakes that I made for the photo shoot which were featured on the table top ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll show some of the professional shots when they’re done.

I painted on the lower cake with food colouring and was a little worried it wouldn’t taste great because of that but all the workers and vendors dug into the cakes as soon as the shoot was done and I thought they both tasted pretty good regardless ๐Ÿ™‚

A Calgary bridesmaid boutique loaned us all the dresses for the models to wear and my boss made arrangements for them to loan me a maternity dress so that the photographer could get a couple nice bump pictures of me on the set! I think they’ll be really nice to have once we get them. The only thing that could ruin the picture is that I haven’t figured out how to smile yet with these braces.

I posted on here in November that my boss Ciara has a 20 month old son and that she had given us all of his clothes that no longer fit him. So we were pretty set for clothes back then and it took me a while to sort through things and try to figure out what might fit him right away. I realized that the labels on each outfit (which say like 3-6months or 9-12months) really have no meaning because some of the 9-12months stuff looked the same size as some of the 3 month stuff. Anyway, last night one of Brett’s co-workers at Suncor came by with all of his baby stuff for us as well. He’s had three sons so there’s a lot of stuff.

It really is a lot of stuff….that’s not all of it either and this is just the stuff that came last night.

I’m pretty sure this whole tub is just socks…..I don’t think Brett and I combined have that many pairs of socks haha. I’m feeling a little overwhelmed by the idea of sorting through it all but I got started a little bit last night…again just looking for the smallest stuff. I figure I’ll return to the sorting to find bigger stuff when he starts to outgrow the first sizes. This (the below picture) is by far the smallest thing that I found. I held my hand up to it for comparison for you.

I’m pretty sure our baby will be born bigger then this outfit. It doesn’t even have a range of months on it’s tag it just says it can be worn up until the baby is 7 lbs…..from what I’m hearing we could have a 10 pounder at birth, yikes! Also, can you tell in the picture how swollen my fingers are? haha I’m pretty sure I couldn’t get my rings off right now if I tried with soap and water.

Last picture and it’s not related to the baby at all but we’ve been having some really nice spring weather lately and our florist at work gave me these gorgeous flowers yesterday to bring home for my table! Aren’t they soooo pretty!

Leave a Reply

